scurvy is good for the soul
2000-11-28

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Mmmm, a bellyfull of shrimp and boiled porc and I'm sitting here wondering why I don't DimSum more often.

THIS time was extra-special though, and for the few of Marn's fans who actually make it all the way out here to check up on me - she's doing JUST fine on her Montreal-Christmas-Shopping-Trip, despite her allegations to the contrary.

Alright, she's looking a little dishevelled, but in the horribly happily energetic way that only Marn can.

And Steven was there too and Marn's littl'un (who's my age, realli) and I learned far too many depressing things about Canadian history.

Like what really happenned that month when Quebec citizens gave up their right to millitary rule with nary a whisper.

I'm living in a utopic dream about my country, I know... And I'm going to make that effort to catch the learning channel symposium on Canadian history because the government I voted for yesterday out of sheer ability to vote... (and not because I was making a difference, but because I had the right to care)

Makes me proud not because we're doing pretty well by certain standards, but because we've come just as far, and fought just as hard, and bled just as much at the hands of apathy, patriarchy, and all the way down the list - as anyone.

Oh dear. My first time speaking as a proud canadian -- and all because of a lunchtime discussion in which I learned just how little reason we should have to be proud.

Just you wait until I tell you how thankful I am to scurvy for bringing Oranges to the NorthAmerican continent. :)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19