Terry Pratchett and the mystery of the sheet-thieving cat
2002-02-17

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Just as I was beginning to count my fortunes that when and if I DO get to sleep beside him, I've finally found a man I can not only love but who DOESN'T STEAL THE SHEETS...

...I end up with the greatest percale thief this side of, well, the snot-filled galaxy.

And he's subtle, too. I never see him do it, and have no idea how he does it, either.

One moment, my great big chinese-patterned comforter is tucked neatly and SOLIDLY over wonderfully soft black cotton sheets imported all the way from Montr�al (just because I loved 'em so much) and the next moment I'm wondering why there's a big black shape moving on the floor in the early-morning gloom where the pile of clothes that I finally got around to putting away should be.

Sighing, I reach for my glasses, once again choosing to witness things that the better part of my brain is screaming YOU REALLY DON'T WANT TO KNOW in fifteen foot high blinking letters of HTML 2.0 .

There, on the floor, where the carefully-folded clothes AREN'T, is my conspicuously absent-from-my-bed topsheet with a happily purring tangerine cat tangled up in the midst of it.

And my comforter is still tucked in, only now I'm noticing that the fabric is slightly rougher against my legs than it should be.

Mr. Pyke may be rather astute in his evaluation that orange cats are the blondes of the feline world, but this is proof that every once in a while a manic blonde in your life is still likely to surprise you.

All this to say that my feet are cold, and the cat is still playing innocent-and-stupid whilst I sit here scratching my head wondering how my carefully put-away-on-another-pile-of-papers checkbook ended up on the kitchen counter.

Was it the cat, I ask you?

Yeah, maybe.

In the meantime, Willow is once again purring away contentedly in my lap and trying to lick my chin in the cutest possible effort to make me feel guilty about naysaying his furry little ass.

Yeah, well, I'm posting this ANYWAY, ya hear this kitty?

Ahem.

Reading Terry Pratchett is SOOOO bad for your lack of humourous writing style, I tell ya.

Some authors are far too strong in their barelling written voices to let you escape without the barest influenece.

Cf? Whatever you do, don't read any immediately before falling asleep or working on your script. Unexpected side effects are likely to occur.

Like monstres thinking they're funny. ;)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19