First day incoherencies and Malaczek proposes
2000-05-08

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


*insert machiavellan laughter*

I'm inside the machine room. I'm sharing a temporary office with Massima (or somesuch, ran by him early this morning then didn't see him again) until they figure out who goes where cuz they've just bought out another floor of this building and of the new kiddies I'm the only one with my own computer so far.

Which I'm not using. I'm attempting to install Linux without it crashing on reboot on one of the machines in the server room. Waitamminnit, they gave me root access on a machine OUTSIDE the network, an Amex card, an access card to the whole building, some cruddy (P-III something, but still) COMPAQ machine and...

Told me to have fun for today. So far I've read over the specs on Peter's project (a friend of Frank's, taught me to play Quake Arena today, oooooooh, I love it.), a chunk of history abotu smartcards, a french publication on the technological aspect of which line of copper sends info where, and a wee mite on XML.

Peter told me to slow down, so I'm updating.

I got introduced to about a hundred people this morning (that's how many there are on the second floor) and was congratulated on smiling through the whole thing. The office with the massive Baldur's gate poster and Phantom Menace posters is at the back/right, the machine room is at the front/right, Peter and Philippe (my boss and the CTO of Gemplus Inc [not Gemplus Canada]) are in the front front, my office is on the left somewhere, and I'm hopin' I can get back in before I leave, or no CDplayer for the ride home. *grin*

I, uhm, love it so far. I'm afraid to say ten million thrilling things and end up on my face, and the looks on people's faces when Chantal said "She's working on Phillipe Leblanc's team" scared the living shit out of me. Phillipe keeps coming by to grin at me and offer me stuff. The coffee is goood. goooooooood. Like, three cups so far good.

Flex hours, meaning I'll be in at 9am cuz I don't have to. Don't ask.

They're paying me to join a gym since I don't want to join the raquetclub since I have a tendancy to get hit by the ball rather than hit it.

I still don't understand the mdeical/dental thing seeing as it went into effect last Friday.

As for paychecks, there's no delay so my worry abotu groceries for the next couple of weeks was inconsequential.

Vacation only starts after a year, but I can take unpaid time off whenever I want provided Phillipe says yes.

Phillipe said yes before I asked. He also wanted to know if I wanted them to buy me anything. So far the Linux and Apache CDs (that I mentioned at the itnerview so they bought them) are more than fiiiiine.

"Just ask"

Okay, I will.

"Et on se tutoie, ici!"

"Oui, des que je m'habitue..."

Coupl'a hottie frenchmen here (and Kebeckers too) who're loving my in-between bastard accent.

MEEEEP!

As for last night... Sorry I missed ya on ICQ Kaff, but I was busy proposing.

Yep, PROPOSING.

I finalyl got to group with my guildmates last night, and I played for abotu 6 hours, too depressed about Saturday to leave the house, despite Maria's promptings. I just didn't feel up to squaring my shoulders and facing people.

So I nuked and I fought and I cajoled and quoted bastardized Shakespeare (Lord what fools these newbies be!) and jokingly proposed to Sheora during a rest break.

"Are you kidding? You're the only one for me, Malaczek!"

I was on the phone with Clay while we played (my sifu - he plays AgDraco and Persuasion on EQ) and he heard me gasp.

Dazahan applauded. I announced that I wasn't possibly good enough for her since my hiatus for school left me 8 levels behind her...

She, and Dazahan, and half the guild assured me that I was, and big black dude that I was I blushed and couldn't speak. IN A GAME.

Anyway, romantic story goes that we met up before she was a Silver Drake and we played for several levels together and Sheora (Dave in RL) decided that I'm the funniest thing in Norrath and after the infamous guildevent (people are still talking about it, I got a couple of hellos from New Drakes who joined up because of the event) she joined up and I dropped out and Eric's been teasing me that he's flirting with her so successfully that she lets him call her "bitch".

Well Eric, she's mine...

As soon as I'm ready. So I'll be playing EQ tonight. You'd better phone me if ya need somethin', cuz I won't be ICQing much...

AIIIEEEEE!!!

I love everyone.

I make a terrible goth. :)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19