big stinky place where little things happen
2000-07-21

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Life's been put on hold.

This very notion is shocking.

I'm sick. The kind of sick where crawling out of bed is accompanied by my very own pounding soundtrack and flashing lights.

There's an obnoxious 1970's night club keeping shop in my head.

I've spoken to handfuls of people and made plans for next week - but right now...

...I'm essentially on unwilling vacation. No work, can't think enough to do it at home, Peter just called and apparently the boss was looking for meeeee...

All I remember of New York now, is that terribly hyper little blond girl asking Maria if I was her girlfriend.

Maria's clever grin and resounding "YES", and "Sherene"'s excited introduction of her girlfriend, her friends...

The F&TM show was AWESOME. I'd never realized how beautiful they were... How stunning that bassist's concentrated mask can be... I fell instantly in love with the opening band - the "Brickbats" and their SitersOfMercy-gone-Ramones sound. Talk about good performers, eh.

We spent Monday recovering from uber-geekdom, and shopping. Soho is not someplace I ever want to become, but their juggling shop was all I'd hoped it would be.

Chinatown was overwhelming.

The goth shops/corset shops/fetish shops were gorgeous, but something about nothing being able to zip up the back was somewhat discouraging.

By Monday night I was tired, footsore, and discouraged.

We wandered over to "Tompson" or "Tompkins" or somesuch park just east of East Village because I needed grass. Just a little bit of quiet time, and to lie down in the grass...

Imagine my shocked lack of surprise to find out that the "park" was really fenced-in scraggly trees surrounded by concrete and benches.

"It's a park with no grass!!!"

I would've been furious if I hadn't been so damned tired...

But Maria's grins, and possibly the best Sushi I've ever had, and running into someone I knew in the metro - and the thrill of wandering around some posh area on Tuesday in my goth-gear, all prepped for the concert...

I had fun. I had adventures. I had the time of my life trying to find a movie theatre near Times Square that was playing "X-Men".

The concert was worth it, so was discovering NYC in all it's stifled grandeur.

The little quirks of the city would be amazing if it wasn't so damned big and stinky. When I got home it took hours of bathing to get the stench of New York off of my skin.

And the whole trip back, I was worrying about work, and the Stuff I Have To Get Done, and about my dad and hospital stuff...

But right now I'm too sick to care.

Yay air-conditioning!

I'm going back to bed, I'll worry about Life later.

(well, maybe a little bit for now, I'd really like to know why the boss was looking for meeeee...)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19