nobody expects the spanish inquisition! Or random concerts. ;)
2000-06-21

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Oe oe oe oe....

That's about as close as I can get to textualizing the soccer chant without remembering the ascii codes for french accents...

(sacrilege, I know - I used to know da whole table by rote... Made BBSing infinitely more creative. ;)

What soccer chant?

The one at the Tragically Hip concert.

No sooner had our hapless heroine resigned herself to having a peek at the screaming mess of her unread e-mail, when the phone chimed in with it's own shrill rendition of "PAY ATTENTION TO MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE".

"Get in a cab NOW, you've got half an hour."

By then my brain had slowed down to the point where I could have swum through molasses with more ease than I could figure out who in diuretic hell was talking.

Lessee, the phone says "Narc" so it's one of the boys - maybe Narc or Lucky, maybe Bruno? The inflection was right, the clever little intonations that tell me I love these guys...

In the meantime they're still ranting and I'm apparently answering with "no, I have stuff to get done, I didn't sleep last night, nah, go without me man I haven't got the strength..."

"Tragically Hip, free ticket, tiny venue."

"See you in twenty minutes, I'll meet you outside the door."

*click*

Yesterday we left off with me in some caffeinated state of overproductivity and fatigue all at the same time, twenty minutes later, all thoughts of late lunch (I keep forgetting to take one at work), test installs, and java servlets were mysteriously combusted and I was in the only cab in Montreal with an english cabbie, too tired to make polite conversation (what, a Monstre too tired to talk?!?) and zipping in and out between slick cars on some random slab-of-cement-hope-it-doesn't-collapse-highway.

The concert KICKED. I recognized a handful of faces in the crowd but by then was running on automaton settings to the point where when everyone got into Christian's car, I just kinda wandered after them.

Christian was kind enough to give me a lift home, Bruno and I overdid it on a perfectly rolled joint in the car, and discussed his Linux lessons.

I wonder if he remembers any of the regular expressions I taught him last night.

I'm surprised *I* do. I crawled into bed with the urge to inflate my long-distance bill, and collapsed in a thrilled and completely drained-to-the-last-drop heap, instead.

With "Fireworks" ringing in my head. Two encores, PHENOMENAL energy both from the crowd and the band - and y'know, it's been a LONG time since I've gone to a concert in a serious venue - the kind where you have tickets with seat numbers onnem (as opposed to a stamp on your hand), but all is damnably fine.

I can't think straight, but I can smell the coffee, and it was a good shock to find out how long it's been since I've done something gleefully spontaneous like end up at a sold-out concert cuz my ex-brother-in-law thought of me.

For once though - I'm not lamenting the loss of wild party nights. I'm still having enough of those (and looking forward to this weekend) - and it's a conscious, full-out intentional decision to lay low a while until I get a better hold on, well, everything that is normally mundane, but through some crimson twist of fate is terribly exciting to twisted little monstrosities. :)

Heeeeee.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19