shaving cream spattering the walls, and they think I'm crazy
2001-04-06

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


So I'm brain-deep in a reference that one of the original authors of OpenSSL suggested to me (turns out he works at ZKS now with Ian and a few friends) and I keep wondering why the hallways smell faintly of men first thing in the morning, and so strongly of sugared mint.

Then the red wine from lunch looses its hold a little from my short-term memory and I remember.

It's Rony an Steve's birthdays today. They're both twenty-six. Some of the youngest losers in the company... Turning a year past the quarter century mark... Y'know... And since they were SO kind as to attempt to scaring the living wits out of me on my birthday and leaving me a painfully unconscious and quivering mass on the floor of some random bar...

When Tia called me late late yesterday evening, I had ALL SORTS of ideas. Shaving cream Steve's precious BIG FUCKING CAR, spattering liquid hand soap all over Rony's desk and leaving some inside an unrolled condom tangled around the base of his chair.

I wanted to take all the screws out of steve's chair, steal Rony's trackballs and re-map his keyboards to korean.

Apparently i may have been a little overzealous, and with the stress of the last little while, the time to implement my fiendish plans was lacking.

So on the way to wine and steaks and baked potatoes, we grabbed a few tubes of toothpaste, and a few cans of shaving cream.

Tia hyperventilated in the restaurant, some combination of no sleep, too much work, too much wine, too warm and the fact that she got my ultra-rare steak and I got her ultra-grey-slate one... I think the blood may have offended her. (I liked the way all eight people at our table ordered the same striploin, though, with the same chowder and the same potato style and the same slightly aged Bordeaux. Something to do with Tia announcing that for some reason whatever I order ends up lookin' mouth-waterin'... Dunno if I should be proud of restaurant skills, but it was a fun moment.)

I couldn't figure out why my teeth were hurting with that steak, tho.

But anywayyyyy...

So we wrote all over their desks in toothpaste, left shaving cream on their chair-arms, telephones, mousepads, somehow the wrong people got blamed for it but eventually they all ended up in my office with handfuls of shaving cream and I got my just rewards.

My skin is silky smooth now, just like it said on the bottle. Hehehehe.

They're off to the liquor store for single-malt right now, and I get to have dinner with Steven later, and today is shaping up to be a make-up-for-the-whole-week kinda day. My boss is looking less stressed, I'm feelin' it, and tonight, I'm going to sleep the sleep of honest work.

In the meantime, I've got OpenSSL to conquer. Caffeine anyone? :)

~

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19