vision in suburbanite armour
2000-04-30

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Yesterday was a vision in normalcy.

Aside from breakfast where half the town seemed to be out and about (Betsy that friend of yours with the wild hair is delicious), the vision was frightening.

Even after breakfast, though - marching down the street heading home (too beautiful to take the bus) my cell rings (I hate the damn thing but what am I doing about it?) and just as I'm discussing stocks with my dad (yeah, yeah, I know) I walk into Lucky and his dad who're having breakfast outisde at Oxford place...

Lucky's grin and "how trendy of you" nearly killed me. So what do I do? I discuss taxes with his dad. I am getting pegged for a lot after all, but I was ready for all but $1000 of it. I'll be fine.

What did I do with the rest of my day? Laundry, went to see my parents, went rollerblading with my mum (she walked), discussed more money stuff with my dad (it's the only time he's happy), spoke to the family in France who're all proud about my degree, spoke to my uncle who's all proud, too, went out FOR COFFEE WITH MY MOM - and actually had civil conversation about absolutely nothing, watched TV with my little sister (*shudder*), skipped out on the party (sorry cf) cuz I was too tired...

And played EQ until 2am.

And woke up early this morning to clean a bit.

I don't *like* this vision of suburbia.

Oh, and I discussed car purchases with my dad. Y'know, a nice-ish car... The kind without rust all over it.

Meep.

This isn't me this isn't meeeeee...

I'm thrilled to be getting along with the family for the first time in years and years and years, but...

And I know this is childish of me, and I'm clinging to every last bit of childish romani wanton-ness, but...

I'd trade a helluva lot of it in to be able to dye my hair pink again.

I got a $50 check back from the government (for last year's refund, how ironic), I'd go spend it on something irresponsible but that seems too much like the suburbanite "let's go shopping to feel better" adage.

I know. I'll go pick up my comic books.

That'll get my head straight. Or delightfully curvy, at least.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19