tv is a strange bedfellow
2000-05-03

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Surreality comes in droves.

10am. Caramel ice cream and adrenaline pumping action shoot-out flick on the screen. Damn, but Will Smith be fiiiiine.

Hey, my mom offered to buy me a TV for graduation. Not cuz I graduated - cuz I consented to go to convocation and get them tickets... Oh no, my uncle's going to be out of town? Oh damn, just you two, then? Awwww... HAH!

So. Lucky loaned me a few videos. A couple of good black and white, classics that I've missed out on, and "Bad Boys".

I figured if I'm going to inaugurate (sp?) the new vcr-thing, and spend my morning in front of the TV< it's going to be good home-grown american shit that I'm doing it with.

And melted ice-cream. Y'know, that consistency it had on "You can't do that on television" where it looks more like lumpy cream...

See? I have TV culture. No really.

They told me about "I want to be a millionaire" last night. I don't get it, but hey. Why sit home and watch it if you want it so bad?

Beats the hell out of me. Only it doesn't, and that's what hurts.

So I spent approximately two hours on a desiccated black leather couch (it's older than I am) that's nowhere near as comfortable as it looks. Here's to biking! My ass is too big for my own goddamn couch.

Two hours. In one place. I finished a half-pack of smokes, called ten people I haven't spoken to in months, left messages (if I missed you, meet us at X-centris at 6:30 for moooovie (another one about incest with Tim Roth) or at Foufs around 11...), washed some dishes, planned to redecorate my living room a bit, maybe instead of a TV I can get a few framings done...

All in all, I had fun watching the movie. New experience, all alone at home and not in front of the computer or in the bath with a book. Not used to spending time here, and y'know... It's kinda nice.

Okay, I'll buy it. I can see a little of the attraction of having a TV. Alone time. THought time. A 5-lb weight in one hand, and my left arm is sore. My butt's sore, too - but I'm sure it'll get used to it like it did to the damned chair.

Fun movie, too. Tea Leoni as a brunette... And make-up aside still relatively stunning. And with character. Yes, Lucky, I agree...

Two movies to go, they can wait. I'm downloading mp3's and then going to go pad my level 14 wiz a bit (Malaczek on Rodcet Nife come find me, I'm the big black dude no longer wearing a pink dress in West Commons getting my ass kicked by grouping with shite players. OUT OF MANA MEANS I CAN'T NUKE, YOU MORONS!!! Stop fucking calling me a useless negro. If you'd let me rest... I'd kick them Dervish asses...)

Ahem.

Tv on the brain, pardon me. Not as nice as I'd thought, maybe. But different, and as long as it stays different, that's cool.

And it's nice not to have to think sometimes. (dammit, I sound like a mundane. Next thing I'll see the merits of something inane like a TV in my bedroom and whooop... No more monstre, just another pile of white trash to take out in the morning...) It'd been a while. I think that's what I value most about the degreeeeee... Evenings relatively freer to let go a little.

About those smurf-houses, J...

I'll get back to the Erik story later. (Ran into him yesterday at school. Strange fellow.)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19